In the state of Texas all 254 Counties are governed by a Commissioners Court. Each County is quartered up by population, with 4 Commissioners and a County Judge. A total of 5 voting members with the County Judge(not judicial) running at large and the County Commissioners representing their respective precincts. You can think of it like the City Council but for the County. This is not a judicial court but the governing body for the County. Urban and rural Commissioners Court generally act in the same way but rural counties have a bigger task maintaining the County roads, bridges and infrastructure as most of the rural counties come under unincorporated jurisdiction.

Scroll to Top